G20 leaders call on the international community to continue to collaborate in response to the epidemic

By yqqlm yqqlm

Xinhua News Agency, Riyadh, November 21st (Reporter Tu Yifan) G20 leaders emphasized on the 21st that the international community must continue Strengthen coordination and cooperation to deal with the new crown epidemic.

The 15th G20 Leaders Summit kicked off on the 21st in video format. The summit lasted for two days and was hosted by Saudi Arabia, the rotating presidency.

On the first day of the summit, Saudi Arabia held a side event on”Pandemic Prevention and Response”. The leaders of the G20 and representatives of international organizations emphasized at the meeting that it is necessary to continue to strengthen coordination to respond to the new crown epidemic, especially to support the most vulnerable groups, while increasing epidemic prevention and control related expenditures for further research and innovation of vaccines.

The statement issued after the meeting stated that the world is experiencing an unprecedented and severe health and economic crisis. The leaders of the G20 pledged at the special summit on response to the new crown pneumonia hosted by Saudi Arabia in March this year to make every effort to overcome the epidemic and work with the international community to protect lives. Today the leaders of the G20 gather again with the goal of ensuring that the necessary follow-up actions are taken to build a safer world and shape an inclusive, sustainable and resilient future.

Saudi King Salman said at the side event that the new crown epidemic shows that international cooperation is the best way to overcome the crisis. He called for attention to the world’s most vulnerable groups and to provide support to all countries in the world.”We will be safe only when everyone is safe.”

The G20 was established in 1999 and consists of China, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, and Italy. , Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union. (End)