National Space Administration: The first lunar sample expert committee was established, composed of 9 experts

By yqqlm yqqlm

National Space Administration: The first lunar sample expert committee was established, composed of 9 experts

The first lunar sample expert committee consists of 9 The committee is composed of three experts. The chairman of the committee is Academician Zhu Rixiang of the Institute of Geology and Geophysics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. The members include Xu Yigang, Academician of the Guangzhou Institute of Geochemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Hou Zengqian, Deputy Director/Academician of the National Natural Science Foundation of China, Zheng Yongfei, Academician of the Chinese University of Science and Technology, and Liu Jianjun, a researcher of the National Astronomical Observatory of the Chinese Academy of Sciences , Wan Yusheng, researcher of Beijing Ion Probe Center, Shen Bing, researcher of Peking University, Hui Hejiu, professor of Nanjing University, Li Ziying, dean of Beijing Institute of Geology of China National Nuclear Corporation.

The meeting reviewed and approved the “Lunar Sample Expert Committee Charter.” The articles of association stipulate that the sample committee is composed of 9 to 11 people, with 1 director, and each term of office is four years. When appointing the sample committee, in principle, the age of the director shall not exceed 70 years old, and the age of other members shall not exceed 65 years old. The research majors of the members of the Sample Committee shall cover the fields of geology, geophysics, geochemistry, mineral survey and exploration, astrophysics, planetary science, etc.

The main responsibilities are: review the application for borrowing lunar samples and give review opinions; review the return of lunar samples and give evaluation opinions; provide advice and suggestions on issues related to lunar samples; Evaluation of scientific research results related to lunar samples; conduct lunar science popularization through lunar sample research and other matters entrusted by the National Space Administration that require consideration by the sample committee.

The candidate experts of the sample committee are recommended by the Ministry of Education, Ministry of Science and Technology, Ministry of Natural Resources, Chinese Academy of Sciences, National Natural Science Foundation of China and other departments and units. On the basis of the nomination of relevant ministries and units, the National Space Administration comprehensively considers factors such as professional and academic achievements, and after extensive communication and full deliberation, it has appointed experts to form a sample committee.

The charter stipulates that the sample committee can invite foreign experts in related fields to participate in the committee meeting on specific issues according to work needs. The number of specially invited experts in each meeting generally does not exceed one third of the total number of committee members. Specially invited experts only participate in the review and voting of the projects involved.