A new non-permanent member of the UN Security Council emerges

By yqqlm yqqlm

On June 11, local time, the member states of the United Nations General Assembly voted at the headquarters of the United Nations in New York to elect non-permanent members of the Security Council from 2022 to 2023.

According to the election method, Albania, Brazil, Ghana, Gabon and the UAE obtained more than two-thirds of the votes to become members of the new Security Council, which will replace the existing Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam.

The Security Council is composed of 15 member states, of which 5 are permanent members, including China, the United States, Russia, France and the United Kingdom. The 10 non-permanent members are allocated according to regions, including 2 in Asia, 3 in Africa, 2 in Latin America, 1 in Eastern Europe, 2 in Western Europe and other countries. Currently, India, Ireland, Mexico, Norway and Kenya continue to serve as non-permanent members of the Security Council. .

The term of office of non-permanent council members is 2 years, and 5 seats will be replaced each year through elections. They will come from 5 regions and cannot be re-elected. The 15 members of the Security Council will take turns to serve as chairpersons for a period of one month. (CCTV reporter Xu Dezhi)

Source:CCTV News Client